Instructor: Evan D. Barrett

Dates: Tuesdays, Oct. 4th to Oct. 25th

Time: 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Location: Hope Lutheran Church

The fascinating history of Montana’s change from a corporate colony to a state with the people in charge. Montana was initially dominated economically and politically by powerful, mostly out-of-state capitalists and corporations. The Anaconda Copper Mining Company (ACM) and its friends ran Montana. Policy was determined in New York City. Control of the press was rigid. Anaconda’s corporate dominance of Montana was unprecedented. For its first 75 years, Montana was a one-company state, unlike any other. But from 1965-1980 winds of change roared across Montana as it ripped off its copper collar. This course covers the beginning of that story.

Class Format: lecture, discussion, Q&A

Readings: No books required. All class content is available on the internet; most of the material can be found on the “Crucible of Change” website

Instructor Bio: Evan Barrett, of Butte’s Highlands College, has spent the last 47 years at the top level of Montana government, politics, economic development, and education, including work for Governors Anderson & Judge, Congressman Williams and Senator Melcher. He currently teaches, produces Montana history film/video programming, and is a regularly published newspaper columnist.


MSU Wonderlust is a high-quality community resource for lifelong learning for the Bozeman area.  Here is university-quality instruction by experts in a huge number of subjects, some multi-week courses, some one-off events.  These offerings come free of homework, exams, or papers: The MSU Wonderlust experience is just a chance to learn new things or review things we’d already studied.  It's also an opportunity to meet people with a wide variety of interests.

The Winter/Spring offerings begin with a reception at the Pilgrim Congregational Church from 4 to 6pm.  It's a chance to meet with the course instructors and side-trip presenters; find out more about their plans.  

Gerry Wheeler, President of Friends of Wonderlust